Our People

MISTRA was founded by a group of passionate South Africans with experience in research, academia, policy-making and governance.

Our Council of Advisors

Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi


Oyama Mabandla

Deputy Chairperson

Reuel Khoza

Abdul Minty

Jenny Cargill

Adrian Enthoven

Luli Callinicos

Mathatha Tsedu

Board of Governors

Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo


Joel Khathutshelo Netshitenzhe

Vice chairperson & Executive Director

Tanya Abrahamse

Patricia Hanekom

Jean-Marie Jullienne

Mosibudi Mangena

Tshilidzi Ratshitanga

Kgabele Solomon Mapaila

Bunguza Peter Vundla

Malose Kekana

Andries Nel

Vuyokazi Mahlati

Dr Claudelle von Eck


Joel Netshitenzhe

Executive Director

Susan Booysen

Director Research

Xolelwa Kashe Katiya

Director Project Management

Oscar van Heerden

Director Operations

Lorraine Pillay

Finance Manager

Gloria Britain

Company Secretary


Khwezi Mabasa

Senior Researcher: Political Economy

Zamanzima Mazibuko

Senior Researcher: Knowledge Economy and Scientific Advancement

Heidi Brooks

Senior Researcher: Humanity

Amuzweni Ngoma

Researcher: Political Economy

Duduetsang Mokoele

Researcher: Knowledge Economy and Scientific Advancement

Zenzo Moyo

Researcher: Humanity

Wandile Ngcaweni

Junior Researcher: Political Economy

Anelile Gibixego

Assistant Researcher: Knowledge Economy and Scientific Advancement

Njabulo Zwane

Junior Researcher: Humanity

Keabetswe Mogosoane

Research Intern: Political Economy

Lerato Mahlangu

Research Intern: Knowledge Economy and Scientific Advancement

Ntsoaki Gwaelane

Research Intern: Humanity

Dzunisani Mathonsi

Projects Officer

Towela Ng'ambi

Consultancy Officer

Noma Moyo

Information and Communication Technology Manager

Terry Shakinovsky

Publications Coordinator

Sindiswa Gasela

Finance Officer/HR Administrator

Magati Nindi-Galenge

Resource Mobilisation Officer

Siphokazi Sigenu

Communications Officer

Mpho Motsepe

Communications Intern

Thabang Moerane

Office Administrator

Lindiwe Malaza


Rose Maleke Ngwato

Office Assistant

MISTRA Fellows

The MISTRA Fellowship system has been established to bring experts in a variety of fields as researchers on specific themes or high-level partners in the content work of MISTRA. Such experts are designated as Fellow of the Mapungubwe Institute (FMI). They work with and at MISTRA as and when the need arises for a fixed duration of two years subject to renewal.